Nintendo Fan Forum  

Go Back   Nintendo Fan Forum > Nintendo Corner > Nintendo Retro Consoles > Super Nintendo

Notices

Super Nintendo Super Nintendo section post here!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2011, 09:45 AM   #1
lauren_keith
Goomba
Points: 33, Level: 1
Points: 33, Level: 1 Points: 33, Level: 1 Points: 33, Level: 1
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
lauren_keith is an unknown quantity at this point

Using an American Super Nintendo in Europe

Hi all,

I am an American living in Germany, and I have my old American Super Nintendo with me. Not even thinking about the difference in voltage, I plugged the power cord in to the wall (not the Nintendo, thank god), and it made a loud popping sound, and the cord is probably/possibly now ruined.

I've called and e-mailed Nintendo in Europe asking about possible replacements and options, and they have not been helpful at all.

My questions:

1. Would a European power cable fit/work with my SNES? I know there could be a potential problem with the voltage (220 vs. 110) and the cycling (50 Hz vs. 60).

2. Should I buy another American power cord from the US and use a voltage converter? (though apparently you're not supposed to use these converters longer than about 10 minutes not very conducive to video game playing)

3. Should I just suck it up and accept that I won't be able to play until I return home?

Thanks for your help!
lauren_keith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 02-10-2011, 06:47 PM   #2
SuperGamecube64
Futtbuck Bro no.1
Points: 57,410, Level: 100
Points: 57,410, Level: 100 Points: 57,410, Level: 100 Points: 57,410, Level: 100
User owns 1x Metroid User owns 1x Triforce User owns 1x Master Ball User owns 1x 1-UP Mushroom
 
SuperGamecube64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,316

My Mood: Woot
Thanks: 5
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 192
SuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond repute

Friend Codes

Awards Showcase
NFF Annual Awards NFF Old Man Award Review of the Month NFF's 4th Annual Award Level 100 Award NFF Promoter Review of the Month Monster Poster 
Total Awards: 19

Send a message via AIM to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via MSN to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via Yahoo to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via Skype™ to SuperGamecube64 Xbox Live Gamertag: SuperGamecube64
Lots of people play their systems out of country. I'd buy a European cord and see if it fits. They are extremely cheap to buy online.
__________________

Check me out on Facebook!
Like action figures? Click here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandyn View Post
You wield the banhammer like Thor wields Mjolnir.

"No, you're clearly wrong. A game's success is determined by the score. Opinions are facts now, and if this game gets too many negative facts then this game clearly sucks so we should all just leave and play Kingdom Hearts and Call of Duty.(that hurt to type)" - Sabeta_Sama of GFAQs
SuperGamecube64 is online now  
Old 02-14-2011, 11:19 AM   #3
Cosmic Dust
Member
Points: 559, Level: 11
Points: 559, Level: 11 Points: 559, Level: 11 Points: 559, Level: 11
 
Cosmic Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 95

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Cosmic Dust is an unknown quantity at this point

Not sure of any suppliers in Germany,but there are places selling US power adaptors like this one
http://www.nintendorepairshop.com/pr...SNES-Adapters/



Last edited by Cosmic Dust; 02-14-2011 at 11:26 AM.
Cosmic Dust is offline  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:50 AM   #4
TT2600
Goomba
Points: 19, Level: 1
Points: 19, Level: 1 Points: 19, Level: 1 Points: 19, Level: 1
 
TT2600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
TT2600 is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi im from Australia and we have the 240v 50hz PAL version the same as Europe however i dont think it will do the job. Best bet is to go into an electrical store and ask for an US wall socket adapter.

We have them in Australia as our mains power is higher voltage then US with different socket pins. This is so people that bring or buy American products can still use them until they upgrade with goods from Australia.
TT2600 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
american, european, power cord, voltage


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American Gangster (movie) mohzeni Media Entertainment 4 10-14-2009 06:40 PM
Chrono Trigger gets a Release Date for Europe. Ling Gaming News 4 01-20-2009 04:49 AM
New North American Club Nintendo XonerZX General Nintendo Section 4 12-07-2008 09:53 PM
All-American Laws marvman3 General Chat 6 10-14-2008 08:56 PM
An American Carol SeanMi Media Entertainment 2 09-30-2008 12:15 PM

NFF Youtube Videos NFF Facebook page

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Nintendo Blog

Nintendofanforum.com is a Nintendo fansite and is not associated with or endorsed by Nintendo of America, Inc.
All trademarks and images belong to their respective owners.
Nintendo Wii