Nintendo Forum  

Go Back   Nintendo Fan Forum > Nintendo Corner > Nintendo Retro Consoles > Super Nintendo

Notices

Super Nintendo Super Nintendo section post here!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2011, 03:13 PM   #1
daoud
Goomba
Points: 27, Level: 1
Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
daoud is an unknown quantity at this point

Tech aid: Moving my European SNES to the US

Hi everybody,

I'm a long time european SNES gamer. I have a European (FRENCH) SNES, and I have the adapter that allows me to play US and Japanese games. But after more than 15 years playing my SNES, I'm facing a problem:

I've moved to the US, and after 6 months without my SNES, I am aware that this cannot be. So I was trying to figure out a way to play SNES in the US. What are the solutions you'd recommend for someone who has no electronic knowledge whatsoever?

Would it be OK to plug my european SNES to a US voltage? What kind of Video output converter should I use?

Also, I'm ready to buy a new system if needed. It's just that I have more than 50 games, most of them being european, and I'd like to play them in the US.

Thanks in advance !
daoud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-2011, 06:18 PM   #2
SuperGamecube64
Futtbuck Bro no.1
Points: 57,446, Level: 100
Points: 57,446, Level: 100 Points: 57,446, Level: 100 Points: 57,446, Level: 100
User owns 1x Metroid User owns 1x Triforce User owns 1x Master Ball User owns 1x 1-UP Mushroom
 
SuperGamecube64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,320

My Mood: Woot
Thanks: 5
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 192
SuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond reputeSuperGamecube64 has a reputation beyond repute

Friend Codes

Awards Showcase
NFF Annual Awards NFF Old Man Award Review of the Month NFF's 4th Annual Award Level 100 Award NFF Promoter Review of the Month Monster Poster 
Total Awards: 19

Send a message via AIM to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via MSN to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via Yahoo to SuperGamecube64 Send a message via Skype™ to SuperGamecube64 Xbox Live Gamertag: SuperGamecube64
I answered a similar question for another a couple months back. It SHOULD be fine, but should something goes wrong, you can simply by a new cable cheaply on the internet. I'm sure there are adapters in the like if you look online as well. Good luck.
__________________

Check me out on Facebook!
Like action figures? Click here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandyn View Post
You wield the banhammer like Thor wields Mjolnir.

"No, you're clearly wrong. A game's success is determined by the score. Opinions are facts now, and if this game gets too many negative facts then this game clearly sucks so we should all just leave and play Kingdom Hearts and Call of Duty.(that hurt to type)" - Sabeta_Sama of GFAQs
SuperGamecube64 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:07 AM   #3
daoud
Goomba
Points: 27, Level: 1
Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
daoud is an unknown quantity at this point

Oh, I'm sorry if I am repeating a thread that already existed (even though I looked in the SNES forum to see if it had already been mentioned).

So you mean I could plug my SNES just using a plug adapter, without necessarily needing a voltage converter?

How about video output? In France we use Péritel (AKA SCART) I take it I would need a converter for a US TV. And no PAL/NTSC issue?
daoud is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 05:29 PM   #4
CosmicMega
A Mega Guy in Cosmos
Points: 1,695, Level: 23
Points: 1,695, Level: 23 Points: 1,695, Level: 23 Points: 1,695, Level: 23
 
CosmicMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 284

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 21
CosmicMega has a spectacular aura aboutCosmicMega has a spectacular aura about


Awards Showcase
Review of the Month 
Total Awards: 1

I don't know much about this personally, but I'm pretty sure that you would only have PAL/NTSC issues trying to put an American cartridge into a European system. And yes, you'd probably need a converter for the TV.
__________________
CosmicMega is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S.N.E.S. or SNES Alice Super Nintendo 36 09-08-2013 10:18 PM
Moving...to New Zealand SegaSlayer33 Profiles and Blogs 19 06-27-2009 07:16 AM
European or Japnese Animal Crossing City Folk Members? shinobibeat Wii Friend Codes 7 02-21-2009 06:14 PM
DSi Moving Memo Pad. Alaska_Gamer Nintendo DS/DSI/3DS 0 12-24-2008 07:03 PM
European Thardus Wii Friend Codes 4 11-01-2008 03:11 AM

NFF Youtube Videos NFF Facebook page

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Nintendo Blog

Nintendofanforum.com is a Nintendo fansite and is not associated with or endorsed by Nintendo of America, Inc.
All trademarks and images belong to their respective owners.
Nintendo Wii